Stabilité financière

Le règlement des différends investisseur-Etat (ISDS en anglais) constitue une des plus grandes menaces dans l’optique d’une « re-régulation » de la finance. L’ISDS accorde des pouvoirs considérables aux firmes mêmes que la régulation de la finance devrait contrôler. Grâce à ce mécanisme, ces multinationales peuvent contourner les tribunaux nationaux et contester une loi dans un système de justice parallèle.

Les sociétés financières et non financières utilisent les clauses des accords commerciaux relatives à l’ISDS pour s’opposer à la régulation de la finance et aux mesures d’urgence concernant la stabilité financière.

Parmi les cas les plus connus :

• Investisseurs c. Argentine : quand le pays sud-américain a gelé les tarifs de l’eau et de l’électricité et a dévalué sa monnaie des suites de la crise financière de 2001-2002, il a été la cible d’une quarantaine de recours arbitraux provenant d’investisseurs divers, dont Suez, Vivendi (France) et Anglian Water (Royaume-Uni). Fin janvier 2014, l’Argentine a été condamnée à payer un total de 980 millions de dollars américains (TBI multiples invoqués).

• Poštová Banka (Slovaquie) & Istrokapital (Chypre) c. Grèce : la banque slovaque et son investisseur chypriote ont initié un recours arbitral contre la Grèce, suite à la restructuration de la dette souveraine et après avoir acheté des obligations d’État à bas prix. Mais la demande des investisseurs a été rejetée (TBI Grèce-Slovaquie & Chypre-Grèce invoqués).

• Saluka (Pays-Bas) c. République tchèque : le fonds d’investissement néerlandais a intenté un recours à l’ISDS contre le gouvernement tchèque car ce dernier n’avait pas renfloué les caisses d’une banque privée, dans laquelle l’investisseur avait des intérêts, de la même manière que les banques en partie détenues par ce gouvernement. Le plan de sauvetage des banques est apparu en réponse à une crise bancaire majeure. En 2006, l’investisseur a obtenu 236 millions de dollars américains en compensation (TBI Pays-Bas-République tchèque invoqué).

(mars 2020)

Le Défi Média | 30-mai-2016
Le gouvernement mauricien a entamé la préparation de sa défense dans l’affaire qui l’oppose à Rawat qui estime avoir été « illégalement » exproprié de ses biens.
Common Dreams | 30-mai-2016
Emails obtained through Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) show U.S. Trade Rep. Michael Froman discussing TPP with Goldman Sachs lobbyists
Macau Business Daily | 10-mai-2016
Locally established company seeks damages for holding company in impending Lao casino resort sale.
Pulse | 9-mai-2016
The Dutch company Hanocal sought international arbitration to demand more than 240 billion won ($205 million) in compensation for what it claimed as extra taxes it had paid to the South Korean government.
Les Echos | 4-avr-2016
Dans le sillage des accords avec les fonds « vautours », Buenos Aires accepte de verser 52 millions de dollars à BNP Paribas.
Basta ! | 29-mar-2016
Voici venu le temps de la spéculation sur les plaintes que déposent des investisseurs contre des Etats en cas de conflit commercial ou fiscal.
EurActiv | 10-mar-2016
Progress was made in the latest round of TTIP talks, but negotiators have a long way to go if the deal is to be signed before Barack Obama leaves office.
Public Services International | 1er-mar-2016
New report shows that trade and investment deals like RCEP will further adversely affect the ability of the government of India to tax corporations effectively and fairly.
Tele Sur | 16-fév-2016
The secretive TTIP could make it easier than ever for big business to sue governments, according to new research.
Tele Sur | 5-fév-2016
Macri firmó un "preacuerdo" con los bonistas italianos que habían quedado afuera de los canjes de la deuda pública en defaults efectuados en 2005 y 2010.

0 | ... | 60 | 70 | 80 | 90 | 100 | 110 | 120 | 130 | 140 | 150

Financial stability

Investor-state dispute settlement (ISDS) is one of the greatest threats to the re-regulation of finance. ISDS empowers the very firms that financial regulation seeks to govern. These firms can bypass host country domestic courts and directly challenge domestic policies in a parallel system of justice.

Financial and non-financial firms have increasingly used ISDS provisions in trade agreements to challenge financial regulations and emergency financial stability measures.

Most well-known cases include:

• Investors vs. Argentina: When the country froze its utility rates and devaluated its currency in response to its 2001-2002 financial crisis, it was hit by over 40 lawsuits from investors, including Suez, Vivendi (France) and Anglian Water (UK). By January 2014, Argentina had been ordered to pay a total of US$980 million (various BITs invoked).

• Poštová Banka (Slovakia) & Istrokapital (Cyprus) vs. Greece: the Slovak bank and its Cypriot investor sued Greece on account of the restructuring of the country’s sovereign debt, after having bought Greek government bonds at a knockdown value. The investors lost the case. (Greece-Slovakia & Cyprus-Greece BITs invoked).

• Saluka (Netherlands) vs. Czech Republic: the Dutch investment corporation filed an ISDS dispute against the Czech government for not bailing out a private bank, in which the company had a stake, in the same way that the government bailed out banks in which the government had a major stake. The bailouts came in response to a widespread bank debt crisis. The investor was awarded US$236 million (Czech Republic-Netherlands BIT invoked).

(March 2020)

Macau Business Daily | 10-May-2016
Locally established company seeks damages for holding company in impending Lao casino resort sale.
Pulse | 9-May-2016
The Dutch company Hanocal sought international arbitration to demand more than 240 billion won ($205 million) in compensation for what it claimed as extra taxes it had paid to the South Korean government.
Les Echos | 4-Apr-2016
Dans le sillage des accords avec les fonds « vautours », Buenos Aires accepte de verser 52 millions de dollars à BNP Paribas.
Basta! | 29-Mar-2016
Voici venu le temps de la spéculation sur les plaintes que déposent des investisseurs contre des Etats en cas de conflit commercial ou fiscal.
EurActiv | 10-Mar-2016
Progress was made in the latest round of TTIP talks, but negotiators have a long way to go if the deal is to be signed before Barack Obama leaves office.
Public Services International | 1-Mar-2016
New report shows that trade and investment deals like RCEP will further adversely affect the ability of the government of India to tax corporations effectively and fairly.
Tele Sur | 16-Feb-2016
The secretive TTIP could make it easier than ever for big business to sue governments, according to new research.
Tele Sur | 5-Feb-2016
Macri firmó un "preacuerdo" con los bonistas italianos que habían quedado afuera de los canjes de la deuda pública en defaults efectuados en 2005 y 2010.
Merco Press | 5-Feb-2016
Argentina announced that it reached a $900 million preliminary accord to settle its pending debt with 50,000 Italian holders of defaulted Argentine government bonds. The Italian bondholders had sought about $2.5 billion at the ICSID.
Reuters | 22-Sep-2015
Sergei Pugachev, a tycoon once dubbed "Putin’s banker", said on Tuesday that he had filed a $12 billion compensation claim against Russia

0 | ... | 60 | 70 | 80 | 90 | 100 | 110 | 120 | 130 | 140 | 150