Energie et environnement

La majorité des différends investisseur-Etat (ISDS en anglais) touche le domaine de l’environnement. Les multinationales utilisent de plus en plus l’ISDS inclus dans les accords de commerce et d’investissement pour remettre en cause les politiques environnementales. Fin juin 2019, 41% des arbitrages effectués au CIRDI concernaient les domaines de l’énergie et des ressources naturelles.

Parmi les cas les plus connus :

• Lone Pine Resources (US) c. Canada : Lone Pine a contesté le moratoire sur la fracturation hydraulique, utilisé pour l’exploration des gaz de schistes, prononcé par le Québec. La province canadienne avait déclaré ce moratoire en 2011. Elle voulait en effet mener une étude sur l’impact environnemental de cette méthode d’extraction souvent accusée de déverser des substances chimiques et des gaz dans l’air et les nappes phréatiques. Litige en cours (ALENA invoqué).

• Bilcon (US) c. Canada : la multinationale états-unienne a contesté les exigences environnementales canadiennes affectant son projet d’ouverture d’une carrière de basalte et d’un terminal maritime en Nouvelle-Ecosse. En 2015, un tribunal d’arbitrage décide que la volonté du gouvernement faisait obstacle aux attentes de l’investisseur. Bilcon est donc sorti vainqueur et a reçu 7 millions de dollars US de compensation, plus les intérêts (ALENA invoqué).

• Vattenfall (Suède) c. Allemagne : la multinationale suédoise de l’énergie avait reçu en 2007 un permis temporaire pour la construction d’une centrale électrique à charbon près de la ville de Hambourg. Afin de protéger l’Elbe des eaux usées provenant de la centrale, des restrictions environnementales avaient été ajoutées avant l’autorisation finale de la construction. En conséquence, l’investisseur a initié un recours à l’arbitrage, affirmant que le projet n’était plus viable. Le litige a été finalement réglé à l’amiable en 2011. La ville de Hambourg a dû accepter d’abaisser les normes environnementales (ECT invoqué).

Photo : Kris Krug / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

(mars 2020)

Market Research Telecast | 3-jan-2022
Enagás considers that the future dividends of this project amount to 186 million dollars that would be added to the almost 400 million that it hopes to recover from the other arbitration.
IISD | 23-déc-2021
L’analyse de l’approche existante adoptée par les tribunaux ne laisse que peu d’espoir quant à la capacité des tribunaux à comprendre et à appliquer le principe du développement durable.
IISD | 23-déc-2021
The analysis of the existing approach adopted by tribunals does not give rise to much hope of ICSID tribunals’ ability to understand and apply the principle of sustainable development.
IISD | 23-déc-2021
Dans sa décision finale du 25 janvier 2021, un tribunal CIRDI ordonnait à l’Espagne de verser des dommages-intérêts à des investisseurs allemands en indemnisation de la réduction d’un régime de subventions.
IISD | 23-déc-2021
In a final award, dated January 25, 2021, an ICSID tribunal ordered Spain to pay damages to German investors in compensation for the clawback of a subsidy regime.
IISD | 23-déc-2021
Le tribunal conclut en faveur d’une violation de l’accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie et reporta sa décision sur les coûts au moment de rendre sa décision sur les dommages-intérêts.
Investigate Europe | 21-déc-2021
Les négociations pour moderniser le Traité de la charte sur l’énergie (TCE) trainent en longueur et les gouvernements Européens perdent patience.
Investigate Europe | 21-déc-2021
European governments are losing patience in talks to modernise the controversial Energy Charter Treaty (ECT), according to leaked documents.
Geo News | 20-déc-2021
Pakistan ill-fatedly lost its multi-billion dollar, regarding probably the world’s largest copper-gold deposit.
The Sierra Leone Telegraph | 20-déc-2021
The ratification sees the ICSID arbitration between Sierra Leone and Gerald International Limited/SL Mining Limited being withdrawn and discontinued.

0 | 10 | 20 | 30 | 40 | 50 | 60 | 70 | 80 | ... | 1510

Energy & environment

Most investor-state disputes (ISDS) have concerned environmental matters. Corporations are using the ISDS system found in trade and investment agreements to challenge environmental policies. As of end of 2019, 41% of all ICSID cases were energy and natural resources-related.

Most well-known cases include:

• Lone Pine Resources (US) vs. Canada: the investor challenged Quebec’s moratorium on the controversial practice of hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, for natural gas. The provincial government declared the moratorium in 2011 so as to conduct an environmental impact assessment of the extraction method widely accused of leaching chemicals and gases into groundwater and the air. Case pending (NAFTA invoked).

• Bilcon (US) vs. Canada: the US industry challenged Canadian environmental requirements affecting their plans to open a basalt quarry and a marine terminal in Nova Scotia. In 2015 the ISDS tribunal decided that the government’s decision hindered the investors’ expectations. Bilcon won and received US$7 million in damages, plus interest (NAFTA invoked).

• Vattenfall (Sweden) vs. Germany: in 2007 the Swedish energy corporation was granted a provisional permit to build a coal-fired power plant near the city of Hamburg. In an effort to protect the Elbe river from the waste waters dumped from the plant, environmental restrictions were added before the final approval of its construction. The investor initiated a dispute, arguing it would make the project unviable. The case was ultimately settled in 2011, with the city of Hamburg agreeing to the lowering of environmental standards (ECT invoked).

Photo: Kris Krug / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

(March 2020)

Africa Intelligence | 19-May-2021
N’étant pas parvenue à sauver sa participation dans le permis Marine XI, la société britannique World Natural Resources a décidé d’attaquer l’Etat congolais devant le Cirdi.
Reuters | 19-May-2021
Finley Resources alleges Mexico violated investor protections under the NAFTA trade pact by failing to honor agreements.
The Ecologist | 18-May-2021
The shadowy parallel court system of major trade agreements makes it difficult for countries to ban broad-spectrum insecticides.
The Indian Express | 17-May-2021
Cairn filed the lawsuit in the US, seeking to make disinvestment-bound Air India liable for the judgment that was awarded to Cairn.
Ecofin | 14-May-2021
C’est la fin d’une bataille judiciaire qui dure depuis près de deux ans à propos de la mine de fer Marampa.
Reuters | 12-May-2021
US commodity trader Gerald Group will pay Sierra Leone $20 million and cede a 10% stake in an iron ore project as part of the resolution to a nearly two-year dispute that led to the shutdown of production.
CIAR Global | 5-May-2021
Andes Petroleum, controlada por petroleras públicas chinas, pretende recobrar su parte de la compensación de cerca de 1.000 millones de dólares que Ecuador le pagó a la estadounidense Occidental Petroleum, procedente del arbitraje de inversiones por la rescisión de un contrato sobre un bloque petrolero en 2006.
King & Wood Mallesons | 5-May-2021
In order to mitigate host state risk, foreign investors should consider the importance of investment treaty protection.
ShareCast | 5-May-2021
The firm said its efforts were focused on pursuing its legal rights in India, and working with Fasken in preparation for a potential international arbitration under the Australia-India Bilateral Investment Treaty.
CIAR Global | 3-May-2021
Panamá pagará $15,5 millones a Enel Fortuna por retrasos en la construcción del proyecto de la tercera línea de transmisión eléctrica. Se pone fin así al arbitraje iniciado por la italiana en marzo de 2019.

0 | 10 | 20 | 30 | 40 | 50 | 60 | 70 | 80 | ... | 1380