Afrique

Les Etats africains ont signé plus de 900 traités bilatéraux d’investissement (TBI), la grande majorité ayant été conclue avec des pays non-africains.

Le Traité de la Communauté économique des Etats d’Afrique de l’Ouest (CEDEAO), comprenant Benin, Burkina Faso, Cap-Vert, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambie, Ghana, Guinée, Guinée-Bissau, Libéria, Mali, Niger, Nigéria, Sénégal, Sierra Leone et Togo, contient des clauses sur le règlement des différends investisseur-Etat (ISDS en anglais) mais aucun litige n’a été déclaré jusqu’ici.

En 2006, les membres de la Communauté de développement de l’Afrique australe (SADC en anglais) (Afrique du Sud, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibie et Swaziland) ont signé le protocole de finance et d’investissement du SADC, qui comprend le mécanisme de règlement des différends investisseur-Etat. Seuls deux litiges ont été déclarés en vertu de ces termes, les deux contre le Lesotho (mais les gouvernements de cette région ont tendance à ne pas rendre public ce type d’information). En 2016, le protocole a été amendé, supprimant les clauses sur l’ISDS (seul le règlement d’Etat à Etat a été prévu) et limitant le champ de protection des investisseurs.

En Afrique du Sud, peu après le règlement à l’amiable d’un conflit sur des règlements miniers post-apartheid avec des sociétés minières étrangères (affaire Piero Foresti & autres), le gouvernement a commencé à se retirer des TBI incluant l’ISDS, affirmant qu’ils appartenaient à une époque révolue. Il a soutenu que les TBI servaient essentiellement les gains des investisseurs de pays développés et ignoraient les intérêts des pays en développement.

Le gouvernement a plus tard décidé de développer un nouveau modèle de TBI et de renforcer sa législation nationale sur la protection des investisseurs étrangers, de sorte que les garanties offertes par les TBI soient compatibles avec la loi sud-africaine. L’Afrique du Sud a aussi cherché à établir des exceptions sur les « attentes légitimes », notion servant de protection aux entreprises étrangères, lorsque l’intérêt public est en jeu.

Des clauses du nouveau modèle sud-africain de TBI ont été incorporées au SADC. Ce modèle met en œuvre des dispositions qui limitent les risques de traités plus anciens et laisse la possibilité d’un règlement des litiges entre Etats, en plus du mécanisme de l’ISDS.

En 2014, certaines voix émanant du gouvernement namibien ont émis des doutes sur le lien entre investissement étranger direct et traités d’investissement contenant l’ISDS. Elles ont déclaré que l’ISDS représentait un risque pour les pays en développement au budget réduit, du fait de frais juridiques et de condamnations financières élevés. Les statistiques montrent en effet que la plupart des requérants viennent de pays développés.

Environ 20% des arbitrages effectués au CIRDI ont concerné des pays de l’Afrique.

L’Egypte est le quatrième Etat le plus ciblé dans le monde, avec 26 cas déclarés. Elle est actuellement au cœur d’un différend initié par Véolia, la multinationale française de services collectifs, suite à une nouvelle loi ayant entrainé une augmentation du salaire minimum.

En 2013, un tribunal arbitral a condamné la Libye à payer 935 millions de dollars américains, suite à un litige sur un bail foncier concernant un projet touristique. Cette condamnation est une des plus élevées de tous les cas connus à travers le monde.

Le Burundi et la République démocratique du Congo ont été les plus ciblés en Afrique sub-saharienne, chacun avec quatre litiges provenant tous d’investisseurs belges et états-uniens, respectivement.

(février 2017)

Al Wihda | 22-fév-2020
Une société de services financiers, basée aux États-Unis, a saisi le CIRDI au sujet d’un différend avec le Cameroun lié à une série de plateformes numériques.
The East African | 10-fév-2020
One of Tanzania’s concessions to Barrick in the new deal is the right to seek international arbitration in case of disputes.
Algérie7 | 10-fév-2020
Le tribunal arbitral a rejeté l’ensemble des demandes de la société Consutel, dont un montant s’élevant à 408,880 millions de dollars US, en guise réparations requises pour cause de présumés dommages subis.
Medias24 | 6-fév-2020
La procédure au fond suspendue dans le litige entre le Maroc et Sholz. La partie marocaine a soulevé une question de compétence. Sholz revoit ses prétentions à la baisse.
| 31-jan-2020
We civil society organizations and trade unions from the African continent express our concerns about the proposal presented by the European Union to establish a multilateral investment court and support further reaching reforms of ISDS.
CIAR Global | 30-jan-2020
La compañía española Unión Fenosa Gas presiona a Egipto ante tribunales estadounidenses para que cumpla el laudo del arbitraje por la planta de Damietta, por el que debe afrontar el pago de 2 billones de dólares
ObservAlgerie | 24-jan-2020
Le holding suisse United Agencies de la compagnie maritime Marine Shipping Co (MSC) demande à obtenir le transfert des dividendes de sa filiale MSC Algeria qui serait bloqué par le gouvernement algérien.
Kluwer Arbitration Blog | 20-jan-2020
Despite debates about crisis in investment treaty arbitration, most emerging market economies are concluding BITs that provide for ISDS and emerging market multinational companies appear to welcome ISDS.
The Citizen | 20-jan-2020
The dispute is related to Canada-based company Montero Mining’s investment in the Wigu Hill rare earth element project.
Mining Technology | 20-jan-2020
Australian mining company Indiana Resources has become the second company in a week to declare a dispute with the Tanzanian government over repossessed retention licences.

0 | 10 | 20 | 30 | 40 | 50 | 60 | 70 | 80 | ... | 270

Africa

African states are party to over 900 investment agreements, the vast majority of which have been signed with non-African countries.

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Treaty, signed by Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo, contains investment-state dispute settlement (ISDS) provisions, but no disputes have been registered to date

In 2006, Members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) (Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland) signed the SADC Finance and Investment Protocol that also includes the ISDS mechanism. Only two claims have been registered under these terms, both against Lesotho (but the governments in the region do not typically disclose such information). In 2016 amendments to the protocol were adopted. They eliminated ISDS provisions (only state-to-state arbitration remained) and narrowed the scope of investors’ rights.

In South Africa, shortly after settling a dispute with foreign mining companies over its new post-apartheid mining rules (Piero Foresti & Others case), the government began to withdraw from bilateral investment treaties (BIT) that include ISDS, arguing they belonged to a bygone era. It claimed BITs focus on the interests of investors from developed countries and do not address concerns of developing countries.

The South African government decided to develop a new model BIT and strengthen its domestic legislation in regard to the protection offered to foreign investors, such as compatibility of BIT-type protection with South African law. South Africa also sought to incorporate legitimate exceptions to investor protection where warranted by public interest considerations.

Provisions of South Africa’s new model BIT] have been incorporated into SADC’s. This model sets out provisions that mitigate the risks of earlier treaties and leaves open the option for state-to-state dispute settlement in addition to investor-state dispute settlement procedures.

In 2014, voices from the Namibian government cast doubts on the correlation between foreign direct investment and investment treaties including ISDS. They argued that ISDS represented a risk for developing countries, due to important legal fees and awards which can pose a significant budgetary threat. Further, statistics show most claimants come from developed countries.

About 20% of all ICSID arbitration disputes have involved African states.

Egypt has been the fourth most targeted state worldwide with 26 registered ISDS cases against it. It is currently facing a dispute initiated by French utility services giant Véolia over a law increasing the minimum wage.

In 2013, an arbitration court ordered Libya to pay US$935 million in a dispute over a land-leasing contract for a tourism project, making it one of the largest known awards to date.

Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo have been the most targeted in sub-Sahara Africa, both with four disputes all initiated by Belgian and US investors respectively.

(February 2017)

The Citizen | 12-Nov-2018
Tanzania is currently facing 13 cases on investment disputes in various international courts with $185.58 million (about Sh426 billion) demanded.
Reuters | 7-Nov-2018
Acacia threatened in October to use a bilateral investment treaty to force direct negotiations with Tanzania after Barrick failed to settle the row that has rumbled on for more than a year and a half.
Medias24 | 30-Oct-2018
Corral demande des dédommagements mais n’a pas encore précisé le montant.
Citizen Digital | 23-Oct-2018
A case filed by Cortec Mining Ltd and two others against the Republic of Kenya under the Kenya-UK BIT amounting to Ksh.200billion has been dismissed.
The East African | 8-Oct-2018
Tanzania has terminated its Bilateral Investment Agreement with the Netherlands that East African and Dutch civil society had said was biased against the country.
The Citizen | 27-Sep-2018
Tanzania is urged to review the 15 years Bilateral Investment Treaty (BIT) with the Kingdom of Netherlands expires in April 2019 before it reckons itself for another 10 years.
The East African | 18-Sep-2018
Tanzania has moved to ensure that investor disputes are resolved locally after Attorney General Adelardus Kilangi pushed through parliament the Public Private Partnership (Amendment) Bill, 2018.
Xinhua | 13-Sep-2018
Authorities in Tanzania defended their move to amend public-private partnership laws and withdraw from international arbitrations.
Africa Intelligence | 30-Aug-2018
Déjà confronté à une procédure devant le tribunal arbitral international Cirdi intenté par l’ex-propriétaire de la société, le royaume va devoir gérer une seconde saisine de la même instance, enclenchée par Carlyle.
Africa Intelligence | 30-Aug-2018
Already faced with an arbitration case at ICSID brought by the company’s former owner, Morocco now faces another started on August 22 by giant US asset management group Carlyle.

0 | 10 | 20 | 30 | 40 | 50 | 60 | 70 | 80 | ... | 170